Women - News & Results

Back l-r: Siobhan Donnelly, Toni McManus, Mary McElvanna, Eileen Fitzsimons, Ellen Brady and Elizabeth Mawhinney
Front l-r: Emma Garrigan, Lady Captain Moya Brady, Geraldine Rafferty

In wintery conditions, Ladies competed in the annual Peggy Nelson Qualifying Stableford Competition on Thursday 4 April, sponsored by Gilfresh.

Ladies playing in Thursday's Club Stableford, sponsored by Professional Travel, were fortunate to play in beautiful spring sunshine.

Welcoming everyone to prize giving, Lady Captain, Mrs Moya Brady thanked Professional Travel for their continued sponsorship and encouraged ladies to support them and indeed all sponsors.

In first place was Lily McMullan with 39 points beating Patricia Hughes, who also carded 39 points, into second place. Maggie McKee took third place with 36 points.

Back l-r: Lena Duffy, Brigid McEneaney, Sheila Hughes, Sheila Stinson, Paula McCrory, Breda Teahan, Maggie McKee and Augusta Jennings
Front l-r: Patricia Hughes, Lady Captain Moya Brady, Lily McMullan

Categories were won by Paula McCrory 35 points (Cat A); Emma Garrigan 35 points (Cat B); Sheila Stinson 36 points (Cat C) and Lena Duffy 32 points (Cat D)

The weekly golfing competitions of Co Armagh Golf Club Ladies' Branch finally got under way on Thurs 21 March with the annual Eileen Steenson Memorial Competition, sponsored by the Craic'd Pot.

Back l-r: Lynne Brown, Ellen Brady, Maggie McKee, Geraldine Rafferty, Helen McLaughlin, Carmel Cassidy
Front l-r: Paula McCrory, Lady Captain Moya Brady, Bernie McBride

Lady Captain, Mrs Moya Brady, welcomed ladies to the first prize giving of season in the refurbished clubhouse.

Co Armagh Golf Club Ladies’ Branch held its annual supper evening on Thursday 24 January.


Hosted by the new Lady Captain, Mrs Moya Brady, the event took place in The Charlemont Arms Hotel due to refurbishment works in the clubhouse. Lady Captain Moya extended a warm welcome to Lady Vice Captain, Mrs Anne McDonald and the large number of ladies in attendance and thanked Greta, Helen and Judith for facilitating the night.

Outgoing Lady Captain Mrs Elizabeth Mawhinney presented the incoming Lady Captain for 2019 Mrs Moya Brady with her brooch of office at the Inauguration Ceremony on Tuesday 1st January 2019. Elizabeth thanked the ladies who played the first nine- hole competition of the year and those who attended the traditional New Year's Day breakfast for their goodwill and support throughout 2018 which had been such a significant year for the club celebrating 125 years. However, she reminded everyone that the passing on of the Lady Captain's badge and the wearing of the new blazer are symbols of both continuity and change as Moya takes up her position as the eighty ninth Lady Captain,

Outgoing Lady Captain Elizabeth Mawhinney presents Lady Captain for 2019 Mrs Moya Brady with her brooch of office.

Lady Captain Elizabeth Mawhinney pictured with end of season prize winners.

On Friday 7th December the Ladies Branch of Co Armagh Golf Club held their annual dinner in the clubhouse. Lady Captain Elizabeth Mawhinney welcomed everyone to the meal and thanked the ladies' choir who started the proceedings with some Christmas carols. A delicious meal was provided by the 7 Hills Restaurant staff. This was followed by a raffle of prizes provided by the Ladies Committee.

Then it was down to the main business of the evening when the final cups of the season and the Winter League competitions were presented. Elizabeth thanked the Competitions Convener Paula McCrory and her team for overseeing the 130 competitions which the Ladies Branch conducted throughout 2018.

The Sinton Cup was won by Ellen Brady with Paula McCrory the runner up in a hard-fought sporting final. Helen Forster and Alexandra Mawhinney were the beaten semi-finalists.

Siobhan Donnelly lifted the Link Cup beating Fionnuala Quinn on the 20 th hole. In joint third place were Helen Forster and Helen McLaughlin.

Lynne Browne was the delighted winner of the Hirsh Cup which is one of the oldest cups presented in the club, with Flo McCall taking runner up honours. In joint third place were Eileen Fitzsimons and Eilish Grimes.

Pictured beneath the clock kindly donated by Miss Berry O'Doherty in memory of Mrs Eileen Steenson are County Armagh Golf Club Captain Mr Colm Shannon, Miss Berry O'Doherty, Mrs Carol McGreevy (Eileen's daughter) and Lady Captain Mrs Elizabeth Mawhinney.

On Friday 2nd November Mrs Gail Steed Lady Captain in 2017 hosted a four-course dinner in the clubhouse for 26 Past Lady Captain’s of Co Armagh Golf Club. Also, in attendance was the current Lady Captain Mrs Elizabeth Mawhinney. 

Although this is an annual event all those attending were mindful that this is the 125th anniversary of the founding of the club and were reminded by Gail that since the founding of the club in 1893 there have been 88 Lady Captains. 

Mrs Gertrude Maxwell who was the longest serving Lady Captain (1971) in attendance took centre stage in the group photograph to mark the auspicious occasion. 



The Past Lady Captain’s golf competition was a highly contested affair with Mrs Audrey Kellet emerging as the winner of the 18 holes, Mrs June Humphries taking the 9-hole honours and Mrs Flo McCall winning the putting competition.