Men - News & Results

In a welcome break from the necessarily selfish nature of individual competition, County Armagh Golf Club hosted a Four-Ball Team Classic on 13 July.

The event’s all-conquering quartet was made up of Johnny Palmer, Art McCrory, Brian McGuigan and David Spratt on 101 points. Next in the Saturday pecking order was the merry band of Peter Conway, Jim McCreesh, Eamon McCaffrey and Paul McCreesh, whose 98-point collective was two better than the score recorded by the third-placed bunch of Jerome Leer, Cormac O’Hare, Gervase Hughes and Paul Corvan.


While his son Adam has been attracting more of the plaudits at County Armagh Golf club of late, Neil Cromwell’s recent competition victory served as a reminder that there’s more than one accomplished player in that particular household.

Cromwell Senior’s wonderful level-par round on 30 June comprised four birdies, four bogeys and 10 pars. And that earned him 39 points, which topped the leaderboard in a Club Stableford event.


July Medal Results - Sunday 28th July 

Sponsored by: Alexander Mills

1st Martin Carson nett 65 (back nine)

2nd Conor McGuigan nett 65

Category 1

1st Jamie Calvert nett 66

2nd Kris Calvert nett 67 (back six)

Category 2

1st Andrew Allen nett 68

2nd Gary Baird nett 69 (back nine)

Category 3

1st Ryan Runnette nett 69

2nd Gerry Doyle nett 70 (back nine)

Gross Prize: Joe Rooney gross 68


Competitions Convenor 2019

1st Prize - Cadet Girls (6-holes) - Rebecca Rafferty 

1st Prize - Junior Girls (9-holes) - Yasmin Monaghan

1st Prize - Senior Girls (18-holes) - Lauryn McKeown


1st Prize Cadet Boys (6-holes) - Thomas McCreesh

1st Prize Junior Boys (9-holes) - Joshua Hamilton

1st Prize Senior Boys (18-holes) - Mark McKenna


Ladies Putting Competition - Sylvia Ashe

2nd Prize Ladies - Karen Edgar 37pts

1st Prize Ladies - Michelle Kinane 44pts


Family Prize - Paul McCreesh 34pts


Country, Overseas & 18-24 Category - Niall Brady 37pts


Council, Committee & Team Captains - Kenny Edgar 36pts (back nine)


Past Captains & President's Prize - Eric Hamilton 36pts


Gross Prize - Joe Rooney gross 40pts


Category 3 - Jarlath Hagan 37pts

Category 2 - Niall McGeown 38pts (back nine)

Category 1 - Michael Cullen 37pts


Runner-Up - Michael Macklin 39pts

Winner - Rory Smyth 39pts (back three)


Competitions Convenor 2019

Senior Open Stableford

1st Rodney Lynas 40pts

2nd Winston Gordon 38pts (back six)

3rd Patrick Darragh 38pts (back nine)


Open Stableford

1st Neil Cromwell 40pts (back nine)

2nd Jarlath McReynolds 40pts (back nine)

3rd Brian McAnenly 40pts


Prize vouchers can be collected from the Pro Shop

Competitions Convenor 2019

Club Stableford Results - Sunday 21st July

1st Patsy Hegarty 40pts

2nd Brian Digby 39pts

Category 1

1st Oliver Connell 38pts

2nd Derick Hynes 37pts

Category 2

1st Anthony Hillen 37pts (back nine)

2nd Tomas McElmeel 37pts (back nine)

Category 3

1st Gerard Kelly 37pts (back nine)

2nd Gerry Doyle 37pts

Gross: Shea Smyth 32pts


Prize vouchers can be collected from the Pro Shop

Competitions Convenor 2019

Club Stroke Results - Saturday 20th July

Sponsored by: Milne Holiday Parks

1st Adam Cromwell nett 64

2nd Patrick Digby nett 65 (back nine)

Category 1

1st Brian Digby nett 66 

2nd Joe Rooney nett 68 (back nine)

Category 2

1st Andrew Rennie nett 65

2nd David Baird nett 67

Category 3

1st Eamon Connolly nett 68 (back nine)

2nd Paul Hughes nett 68


Competitions Convenor 2019

With Keady's Hugh McElvanna Drapery and Footwear once again kindly lending its backing to a summer stroke competition at County Armagh Golf Club, Conal Hamill was triumphant in the 2019 iteration after a made-to-measure nett 63.

Hamill's sensational four-over-par outing on 23 June was worthy of Savile Row itself and ensured a four-shot margin of victory that, by comparison, left the remainder of the 140-man field floundering in ill-fitting rags.

Conal Hamill's outstanding nett 63 secured victory in a club County Armagh Golf Club stroke competition last month. He was presented with his prize by event sponsor, Hugh McElvanna from McElvanna Drapery and Footwear, Keady. Also pictured are Club Captain, Kenny Edgar, and other prizewinners (L-R): Niall McGeown, Martin Carson, Stewart Stevenson, Brendan Lynch and John McAleavey.