Men - News & Results

Members are advised that the Annual General Meeting of Co.Armagh Golf Club takes place in the clubhouse at 8 pm on Monday 14th December 2009.Any proposed and seconded nominations for council must be received by the Honorary Secretary by Wednesday 9th December 2009.
2.Quiz Night.

A quiz night in aid of Club Projects for all the Club Teams and their guests will be held in the Clubhouse on Friday 11th December 2009 at 8.29 sharp - so Team Captains are asked to encourage their players to attend and show that their golfing knowledge compares with their skill on the course.

Paddy posts winning score

The first Club Stableford Competition of December was competed over sixteen holes with the third and fourth holes temporarily out of play due to the reconstruction of the third green and with the conditions under foot still very damp from the recent heavy rain many players found it difficult to put together a prizewinning score.It was however Paddy Darragh who took it all in his stride and delivered the winning score to take first place with his 38 points whilst recent regular prizewinner juvenile convenor Paddy Burns took the 0-12 category on the back nine with his 36 points.The 13-18 section was accounted for by Kieran Grimley with his 36 points  whilst Paul McCreesh carded 37 points to take the 19-28 category.


Result :

1st           Paddy Darragh          38 points

0-12         Paddy Burns             36 points (back 9)

13-18       Kieran Grimley           36 points

19-28       Paul  McCreesh          37 points


Congratulations to all above -prizes will be added to players accounts in the Professional's Shop



Norman storms into first place

With the weather holding up many golfers returned to the course at the weekend and were undeterred by the fog on Saturday and cold wind on Sunday to compete in the Club Stableford Competition in the hope of bagging an early Christmas Box.Although conditions under foot were still soft ,the lift clean and place facillity compensated and many took advantage to return excellent scores in the circumstances.On this occasion Norman Mallon took the overall winners prize with his superb 43 points leaving Ally Wilson taking the 0-12 category with his 42 points and John Lowe in first place in the 13-18 section with a similar score of 42 points while recent regular winner Tom Donnelly took the final category of 19-28 with his 40 points.



1st              Norman Mallon                         43 points

0-12            Ally Wilson                                42 points

13-18          John Lowe                               42 points

19-28          Tom Donnelly                          40 points


Congratulations to all above-prizes will be added to players accounts in the Professional's Shop  

Paul bowls them over to win the Winter League 2009 

As all golfers know the poor weather over the past few weeks has had a dramatic effect on the Winter League this year and those fortunate enough to be able to play on most weekends had a clear advantage when they returned sufficient cards to be considered in the overall prizes.One player of note was Paul Corvan who has had a very successful year finishing it by taking first place in the competition with his excellent 162 points.Second place went to the Vice-Captain Michael Grant who showed that the impending weight of Captaincy did not deter him returning consistent scores for a total of 154 points.In third place was Michael Cullen who was another player who rose through the categories during a successful season and returned 152 points just ahead of the Juvenile Convenor Paddy Burns who having injured his hand in the early rounds made a determined effort to be in the prizes and carded an excellent 151 points to take fourth place.In fifth place with 149 points was single handicapper Macartan McGeary who has been in excellent form since returning to the club just pushing regular prizewinner Alex Nesbitt into sixth place with his 148 points.


1st                         Paul Corvan                      162 pts

2nd                       Michael Grant                    154 pts

3rd                        Michael Cullen                  152 pts

4th                        Paddy Burns                      151 pts

5th                        Macartan McGeary            149 pts

6th                        Alex Nesbitt                        148 pts


 Congratulations to all above-prizes will be added to players accounts in the Professional's Shop


1st        Declan Lenagh              40 points

0-12      Ryan McVeigh                39 points

13-18    Fergal McKinney           38 points

19-28    Kevin Boyd                     39 points


Congratulations to above -prizes added to players accounts in Professional's Shop

The fourth week of the Winter League Competition was once again blighted by wet and wintery conditions on Saturday afternoon while the reduced field of players on Sunday had ideal conditions but on this occasion the overall winner was the Vice Captain Michael Grant who took it all in stride to win on the back nine with his 40 points.In the categories Kieran Grimley had to settle for first in the 0-12 section with his 40 points while Michael Cullen moved up a section to take the 13-18 category with his 39 points leaving Winston Gordon the winner of the final group 19-28 with his 39 points

1st          Michael Grant                                40 points(back 9)

0-12       Kieran Grimley                               40 points

13-18     Michael Cullen                               39 points

19-28     Winston Gordon                            39 points

Congratulations to all above -prizes have been added to players accounts in Professional's Shop

Eric gets the coveted jacket Category


At the inaguration ceremony on January 1st 2009 the out going Captain Charles Vernon presented the incoming Captain for 2009 Mr.Eric Hamilton with his Captain's jacket.

The Captain Eric Hamilton presents Paul McCreesh with the winners prize for the inaugural nine hole competition

The outgoing Captain Charles Vernon presents first prize to David Baird the winner of the Captains Farewell Competition

No Internet Connection